Thursday, December 01, 2016

Pink Floyd - Bricks In The Wall

   "Bricks In The Wall" and "The Pros and Cons of Hitchhiking" were the two demotapes that Roger Waters presented the band in late 1978, after the catastrophic "In The Flesh?" tour of 1977, that although being lucrative, created even more distress within the group, not to mention the infammous "Spitting incident" on one of the concerts. The two soon-to-be albums share the fact that both were concept albums, and even some songs, such as "The Moment of Clarity", sung in the Wall movie. David Gilmour even said that most of the songs on both projects sounded the same anyways, and that they chose The Wall because it was "less personal" than it's twin album, both sharing the themes of suicide, marriage, and others, one with the metaphor of Pink, and the other as the main character, who has no name, who even share some similar characteristics.
   The Wall was released in December, 1979, to great acclaim, both critically and commercially, and was followed by a gigantic and overblown tour during 1980. The Floyd's following album, 1983's divisive The Final Cut, featured many songs originally written for the original album that were turned away (such as The Hero's Return), and even the songs that weren't specifically written for that fit thematically, one way or another. The album sounds like all the quietest moments of The Wall, and is a Waters solo album in all but name. Soon after the release of TFC, Roger quit, and the others decided to keep on with the band, releasing another album only in 1987.
   The Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking only saw the light of day as a Roger Waters solo release in early 1984, with Eric Clapton as the guitarrist. And even in it, two or three songs fit into the Wall's sparse narrative, which of couse will be included. So, what I am trying to do is: to join these conceptually united songs together into one entity, adding more detail to The Wall's story. I renamed it "Bricks On The Wall", after the original demo, and divided it into two acts (I tried to divide into album sides, but doing so would mess up the sequence, so...), of about 22 songs each. Here's what I came up with:

Act I
  1. In The Flesh
  2. The Gunner's Dream
  3. The Thin Ice
  4. Southampton Dock
  5. When The Tigers Broke Free
  6. Another Brick In The Wall, Pt.1
  7. The Happiest Days of Our Lives
  8. Another Brick In The Wall, Pt.2
  9. The Hero's Return
  10. One of The Few
  11. Mother
  12. The Post-War Dream
  13. Goodbye Blue Sky
  14. Paranoid Eyes
  15. Empty Spaces
  16. Sexual Revolution
  17. Young Lust
  18. One of My Turns
  19. Don't Leave Me Now
  20. Another Brick In The Wall, Pt.3
  21. The Last Few Bricks
  22. Goodbye Cruel World
Act II
  1. Hey You
  2. Is There Anybody Out There?
  3. Nobody Home
  4. For The First Time Today
  5. Your Possible Pasts
  6. Vera
  7. Bring The Boys Back Home
  8. The Fletcher Memorial Home
  9. Not Now John
  10. Get Your Filthy Hands off My Dessert
  11. Duncarin Dunroamin Dunlivin
  12. Confortably Numb
  13. The Show Must Go On
  14. In The Flesh?
  15. Run Like Hell
  16. Waiting For The Worms
  17. Stop
  18. The Final Cut
  19. The Trial
  20. The Moment of Clarity
  21. Outside The Wall
  22. Two Suns In The Sunset

   It starts off just as the released version, with the first "In The Flesh?" setting the mood and introducing Pink, our main character, followed by TFC's "The Gunner's Dream", which talks about Pink's dad's experiences in WWII. In "Southampton Dock", come the news of his father's passing, creating the cue to "When The Tigers Broke Free" and "ABITW, Pt.1", both dealing with the loss of his father. "The Hero's Return" and "One of the Few" both deal with the teacher from "ABITW, Pt.2", but telling jt from his perspective, a war veteran himself. "The Post War Dream" deals with politics, and is the first time Pink deals with it, seing the world he's growing up in in the middle of a Crisis. "Paranoid Eyes" serves as a prequel to "Empty Spaces/What Shall We Do Now?", showing Pink starting to "lose it", in a way. Right before "Young Lust", "Sexual Revolution" (which was demoed by the band in late-1978) shows his views towards women, soon before a song about his sexual needs, fitting in well. On into Act II, "The First Time Today, Pt.2", continues "Nobody Home", with Pink realising that his marriage is over and there's nothing he can do.
   A theme shift comes in with "Your Possible Pasts", where both Pink recalls the Wartime while also talking about the distance between him and other people. "The Fletcher Memorial Home" talks about "the boys who managed to get home", as requested in the song before it, and also about the Kings and Tyrants who weren't needed anymore with the end of the conflict. The theme of nostalgia continues in the next two songs, with him commenting on a negative way on "today's life", with "Not Now John" and "Get Your Filthy Hands off My Dessert". Up next is "Duncarin Dunroamin Dunlivin", where it is shown his miserable and depressed state, which leeds to "Confortably Numb". After his descend into fascism, and the regret of doing in on "Stop", he contemplates suicide and almost gets to, not managing to "do the final cut". He then comes to terms of the Wall on "The Trial". And in "The Moment of Clarity" (sung in the Wall movie), realises what he has to do, now free from the wall. Our ending is "Two Suns in The Sunset", which tells of a nuclear war, and although that is happening, all is well and we are all equal in the end.
   I like the end result of this 44 song monstruosity, which explains way more of the story than the released version tells us, creating a bigger and more-developed universe, that ends ambiguously with "Two Suns...". It is, yes, more overblown, and even maybe too long (there are folks that even consider the normal one too long!). But anyway, as a experiment, and a try-out at telling the full story, it works pretty well. Any opinions? Criticism, requests (Spare Bricks will be taclked soon), anything at all is welcome. Be sure to make any change you want to the tracklist, and see you next post!


- The Wall (Pink Floyd)
- The Final Cut (Pink Floyd)
- The Pros & Cons of Hitchhiking (Roger Waters)
- The Wall: Sountrack from the Film (Pink Floyd)


  1. Replies
    1. I'm still trying to find a way to make a download link, should be available soon

    2. There's the link, mediafire is the easiest one, in my opinion

    3. Sadly some of the tracks got removed

    4. they did? which? I'm gnna check it out

    5. if you look at the right side of the page, most of the files have a c in a circle. if you put your cursor over them it will say "copyrighted" and you can not download.

    6. Changed it to dropbox, hoping it works

  2. Dropbox work like a champ! Thank you very much.

    1. You're welcome! And I'm glad it FINALLY worked